The book won "Best Scientific Publication in the Natural Sciences" award (University Press Competition) in June of 2011

ISBN  978-0-9834963-4-2

Peer reviewed by B.M. Rachkov, Doctor of Medical Science, professor, scientific supervisor of the Department of Neurosurgery at the Federal State Agency "Russian Scientific Research Institute of Traumatology and Orthopedics of R.R. Vreden".

The book demonstrates the dependency of pain mechanisms on the structure of tissues and organs that have become the source of pain. Examined in detail are the primary mechanisms of muscle, intraosseous, joint, visceral, vascular, and neuropathic pain. Based on the progress achieved in the science of chronic pain, the authors have created a clinical "alphabet of pain" and developed a special algorithm for diagnostic studies of patients with chronic pain.

The book is intended for physicians of all specialties. It will be especially useful for family physicians.

About the authors

Dr. Yuri F. Kamenev is a well known pain specialist, who has been working in the field of pain medicine for more than 30 years. A Doctor of Medical Science (1990) and the author of more than 180 scientific publications and several monographs, he has been nominated six times by leading medical institutions of Moscow and St. Petersburg to receive the State Science and Technology Prize for scientific achievements in various fields of clinical medicine. Dr. Kamenev worked for many years (since 1977) at the N.N. Priorov Central Institute of Traumatology and Orthopedics (Moscow, Russia), where he headed a research laboratory and department, organized and directed operations of the Pain Center.

Dr. Kamenev’s main works are dedicated to clinical bioenergetics, using “the effect of ultra-low doses” for medical purposes, surgery of the foot and pelvis, study of people’s vulnerability with the use of personal armors. Attributed to the author is the discovery of a fundamental law in pain medicine – tissue determinants of the mechanisms of the origin and elimination of the pain syndrome (pain law of Y. Kamenev). Based on this discovery, the author created the world’s first “Clinical Alphabet of Pain”, which allows to interpret correctly the nature of chronic pain and to treat it successfully. This becomes possible with the restoration of the dual (neural- and tissue-based) nature of the mechanisms of chronic pain.

At present, together with the co-author of the discovery V.V. Kamenev, the author is working on the development of new technologies for elimination of pain in traumatology and orthopedics. They will be uncovered in the upcoming series “Medicine of Pain” which includes four books: “Mechanisms of Chronic Pain: Clinical Aspects”, “Reference Book of Clinical Pain Medicine”,  “Foundations of Clinical Treatment of Chronic Pain”, and “Resources of Pain Medicine in Traumatology and Orthopedics”. 



Preface to first edition

CHAPTER 1. Dual Nature of Mechanisms of Chronic Pain

CHAPTER 2. Classification of Chronic Pain

CHAPTER 3. Tissue Mechanisms of Primary Chronic Pain

            3.1 Triggering Mechanisms of Muscle (Myofascial) Pain

            3.2 Triggering Mechanisms of Bone (Intraosseous) Pain

            3.3 Triggering Mechanisms of Joint (Sinovial) Pain

            3.4 Triggering Mechanisms of Visceral Pain

            3.5 Triggering Mechanisms of Vascular (Ischemic) Pain

            3.6 Triggering Mechanisms of Neurogenic Pain

CHAPTER 4. Clinical Essence of Pain Dysfunction of Nervous System

            4.1 Autonomic Pain

            4.2 Somatic Pain

CHAPTER 5. Diagnostic Algorithm for Clinical Examination of Chronic Pain

            5.1 Basis for Establishing the Nature of Pain Syndrome

            5.2  Examination and registration of chronic pain

            5.3 Clinical Examination

            5.4 Selection of Additional Research Methods

            5.5 Study of autonomic regulation of body functions

CHAPTER 6. Psychogenic pain in hidden depression

Glossary of Scientific Terms in Pain Medicine


Please enter a search term to begin your search.

Copyright © 1990 - 2023